Who Am I?

Posted: July 4, 2013 by Savvy Saver in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

As you guys would have guessed, I am a tube light. It takes some time for me to realize stuff. So after writing four posts about strength training, I decided I’ll write a little bit about myself and how I got bit by the iron bug.

There comes a point in your life when you realize that you’ve been doing everything wrong. It is at that moment that you decide to shuffle things up and pick up the trash. For me there have been quite a few moments like that.

At 19 years old, I was 5’10” weighing around 55kg (121lbs). I was leading a sedentary life wasting my youth away. I thought I was normal, heck everyone thinks they’re normal. It was then when something hit me hard. It was the glass door of the mess. I had lost my senses of vision and hearing and ran into the glass door and fainted immediately. The doctor said I had low blood pressure – 95/60. It wasn’t too shocking for my deluded brain. It was what happened afterwards was what changed me. I had to rely on other people to do routine stuff. Someone had to bring me food from the mess. If I had to go somewhere, I’d need someone to go with me so I don’t fall down and faint again. And they’d have to carry my stuff because I was so freaking weak.

old college

This is me in 2006

I decided that things had to change for the better when the doc told me that I had iron levels less than a girl’s normal levels. I started eating healthy and started going to the gym. I had no idea of what I was doing, but at least I was trying.

A couple of years ago, I came to the United States to pursue higher education. When I looked around at the Indian population, I saw pot bellies and sagging double chins. These were people who were barely in their twenties.

I remember I had gone for bootcamp one day and I was the only Indian there. Guess what I found? The American girls had more stamina and strength than myself.

In the country I call home, people like to eat good food and enjoy. But this doesn’t mean that you don’t take care of yourself and let your belly go beyond your toes. Oh, and you don’t need two chins; one is enough. People in the west think that we Indians are only good at math. They think that we are weak physically because we never show up on the scene in sports like Football. This is not their fault. This is our own fault for being lazy and not being conscious about our own selves.

I started training seriously in September 2012. After about 9 months of training I look like this today.

progress2

My purpose is to change the world’s perspective about India and Indians. I want to show the world that we Indians can be strong and fast. I want to create Usain Bolts and Rafael Nadals in India. And then I want to look at the people of the world as they look in awe at us Indians.

Leave a Reply

