Initialization in the ways of the Iron

Posted: October 12, 2013 by tnt007tarun in Uncategorized

I am one of the author’s friends who is also a strength training buff, and I had actually used strength training + diet as a way to lose fat a couple of years ago.

This quote is what galvanized me to take action one fine New Year’s eve. I was overweight, bordering on the edge of obese. Unhealthy, lazy and stuck to the computer all day, I was whiling away my health and life. I’ve always wanted to look and feel good – who doesn’t? But I never took the steps to make it happen since I did not want to put in the work and more importantly was afraid of failing. Failing myself and failing those who would believe in me.

Things had gone too far though, and I was prepared to go through everything to at least start getting myself on the right path. This was December 31st 2009. I scoured the internet for information on how to start losing weight. I tried to lose weight before but never found any success – I tried doing cardio but my diet was not in control. This time I knew that my diet had to be in control first. And so, after reading up and reading the right things – I got my hands on a free e-book that expounded the virtues of compound exercises – the squat, bench press, deadlift, shoulder press. I only knew how to bench and was poor at it too. But I made it a point to learn research and apply. I started going to the gym in early January, and my first couple of months were spent learning how to do the exercises right. I was so unfit I couldn’t even squat parallel without losing balance.

Nevertheless, I kept on. People at my gym wondered why I was trying to learn an exercise (the squat) no one else bothered to do. I kept getting advice like “You can work out with me – chest on Monday, biceps on Wednesday and triceps on Friday”, and the like, but I was having none of it. I was finally able to squat properly with the bar in early March; I was so happy! Now I could start out on a proper training regimen. I bought Starting Strength and followed the program but without the extra calories and definitely without GOMAD (Gallon Of Milk A Day). I kept losing weight in the right areas and slowly started building muscle that totally changed the shape of my body! Everyone started commenting that I was looking great – what was I doing? What was the secret? I didn’t have the heart to tell them I spent two months learning an exercise and then training 3 days a week for the next 6 months.

I was around 230 pounds when I started out, and was able to drop down to 180, with all my compound lifts between the novice and intermediate weights for my weight class. I later had a bout of typhoid but was surprised to see that my strength was still mostly intact! A 50 pound fat loss coupled with increased lifts all round. All this showed me that I made the right decisions. Compound lifts. A program that worked. Bodyweight grams of protein. And a will to succeed – a most potent combination! Strength training builds character and a restlessness to always work hard if you want results.

gen

220 lb to 180 lb, strength training and calorie deficit

Comments

Leave a Reply

